The St. Petersburg School and Its Successors

Segment 3 explores Jewish composers of the St. Petersburg School of Russia and their successors, including composers of Yiddish art song and European composers of concert and liturgical music. Composers who are discussed include Ernest Bloch, Darius Milhaud, Arnold Schoenberg, Kurt Weill and Lazar Weiner.

Panelists include:

  • Joshua Jacobson (moderator), professor of music and director of choral activities, Northeastern University; founder and artistic director, Zamir Chorale of Boston; and senior adviser to the Hebrew College School of Jewish Music
  • James Leoffler, assistant professor of history, University of Virginia, Corcoran
  • Yehudi Wyner, professor of composition emeritus, Brandeis University