Twentieth Century Synagogue Cantor- and Conductor-Composers

Segment 4 discusses the music of the 20th century Jewish cantor- and conductor-composers, who composed mainly for the synagogue. Composers who are discussed include Abraham Elstein, Herbert Fromm, Max Helfman, Leo Low, Meyer Machtenberg, Yossele Rosenblatt, Joseph Rumshinsky, Heinrich Schalit, Sholom Secunda, Yehudi Wyner and Zavel Zilberts.

Panelists include:

  • Samuel Adler, retired chair, composition department, Eastman School of Music
  • Joshua Jacobson (moderator), professor of music and director of choral activities, Northeastern University; founder and artistic director, Zamir Chorale of Boston; and senior adviser to the School of Jewish Music, Hebrew College
  • Cantor Brian J. Mayer, dean, School of Jewish Music, Hebrew College
  • Cantor Charles David Osborne, cantorial coach, School of Jewish Music, Hebrew College
  • Yehudi Wyner, professor emeritus of composition, Brandeis University